Dubai – Part 1

 

It is so good to be back in Dubai. I already know my way around the city and it’s fun to visit the places I used go when we lived here and see all the changes that have happened since we moved away. The first day here I met some old friends for drinks at one of my favorite spots on the planet, Bahri Bar, located at the Mina A’Salam Hotel. The view of the Burj Al Arab is spectacular at night and the hotel is a wonderful example of Middle Eastern architecture.

IMG_0197
View from the Bahri Bar

Mina A’Salam Hotel pictures

 

The Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa

Dubai, of course, is home to the largest mall in the world, the Dubai Mall. The mall has over 1,200 stores and includes a 3 story aquarium, a waterfall, soccer field, and a dinosaur. What better place to put it but next to the Burj Khalifa – the tallest building in the world with 160 stories. We tried to get tickets to go to the top of the Burj Khalifa but it was sold out for the several days. It has been very dusty here so I’m not sure if we could see anything from the top anyway. If it clears up and we can get tickets we will go next week. We took pictures from the bottom which doesn’t really do it justice. It looks so small in the photo but it is enormous when you are standing next to it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Bur Dubai

My favorite touristy thing to do in Dubai is to go to Bur Dubai, which is an area on the south side of the Dubai Creek, have a Middle Eastern lunch and take an abra (water taxi) across the creek. The abra ride takes about 10 minutes, costs 1 dirham (about 25 cents) per person and drops you off at the gold and spice souks on the other side of the creek. It was Friday and most shops were closed so I didn’t take any pictures of the gold souk. It’s much more impressive at night anyway so when we go back in the evening later this week I will take pictures then.

IMG_0655
Abra

 

IMG_0656
On the abra.

We have one more week in Dubai. Pictures of the gold souk and whatever else we explore to come in a few days.

 

3 thoughts on “Dubai – Part 1

  1. I loved reading your posts on Dubai. My husband is leaving today for a week there. It will be his first time so I shared your favorites with him.
    Sounds like a wonderful trip!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment